Hello There

Captain’s Message

Men’s Captain

Lady Captain

We are delighted and honoured to be your Club Captains for 2023. We are very proud of the first-class facilities available to both members and visitors at the Golf Club. We have two magnificent courses on Mahony’s Point and Killeen (host to the Irish Open in 1991, 1992, 2010 and 2011) and are confident that the management and staff of Killarney Golf and Fishing Club will cater for all your needs.

We hope that 2023 will be a rewarding experience for all associated in any way with Killarney Golf and Fishing Club. To our members, we hope you will have a great year of golf and that we will achieve success with one or more of our Club teams – men’s and ladies’ alike.

We extend a warm welcome to all our members and visitors for and hope your experience at the Club will be memorable.


A Brief History

In 1893 when the club was founded, forty members formed the Club paying an annual subscription of just 10 shillings each. The golf club was first situated on land belonging to The Earl of Kenmare called Deerpark. As a shock decision in 1936 by the land agent for the Earl of Kenmare to increase the rent members began to look for an alternative location for the club. It proved to be a fortuitous move for the club, when the club’s president, the Viscount Castlerosse led the campaign to provide Killarney with ‘the best and most beautiful course on the world’. With this in mind Killarney Golf Club was formed in 1937 to build a course at its present location.


High Profile Events

European Amateur Team Championship

The European Tour Team Championship was held at Killarney Golf & Fishing Club in 1975. Thousands of spectators watched the competition under fabulous sunshine as the Scottish team ran out as eventual winners.

The Irish Open

The Irish Open was held on Killeen in 1991 with a clinical Nick Faldo emerging as winner over Colin Montgomerie with David Feherty setting a course record of 65 on the closing day.

The Irish Open

The Irish Open was once again held on Killeen in 1992 where we seen massive attendances witness a dramatic finale with Nick Faldo emerging as winner in a heart stopping play-off with the relatively unknown South African, Wayne Westner.

The Curtis Cup

The Curtis Cup was play on the Killeen course at Killarney Golf & Fishing Club in 1996 with the ladies of Great Britain and Ireland beating the USA team in a famous victory.

2002 + 2003
The Irish Ladies Open Championship

The Lackabane course hosted the Irish Ladies Open Championship in 2002, which was won by Iben Tinning from Denmark in 2002 and by Sophie Gustafson from Sweden in 2003.

2005 + 2006
Ryder Cup Challenge Tour Event

Killarney Golf & Fishing Club was the proud host to the Ryder Cup Challenge Tour Event in 2005, which was won by Mark Warren or Scotland and then again in 2006, which was won by John Wade of Australia.

The Irish Open

The Irish Open returned to Killarney Golf & Fishing Club again in 2010 where England’s Ross Fisher claimed a famous victory.

The Irish Open

The Irish Open was again held at Killarney Golf & Fishing Club in 2011 where Simon Dyson came out on top to claimed victory.


The Greats

Over the years Killarney Golf & Fishing Club has welcomed many of the greatest players in the world who have been made honorary members of our great club.

Nick Faldo

Payne Stewart

Dr. W.M O’Sullivan

Philip C. Hillard

D.P IVO O’Sullivan

D.D O’Connell

Hans Liebherr

Isolde Liebherr

Michael Guerin

Eoghan O’Connell

Paul Murphy

Bridget Gleeson

Hilda Huggard

Iben Tinning

Sophie Gustafson

Ita Butler

John Wade

Marc Warren

Padraig Harrington

Klaus Nolke

Ross Fisher

Seamus Coffey

Graeme McDowell

Rory Mcllroy

Paul McGinley


Contact Us

[contact-form-7 id=”853″]